Holly Homeschooling

Sharing the journey of homeschooling


Our Favourite Documentaries and Netflix Shows for Young Children

Netflix.

Sometimes I love it and sometimes I hate it. I started hating it a whole lot less when I discovered I could block the shows and movies I didn’t want my children seeing (even just the previews were too much).

I started to love Netflix when I created an account called Learny and customised it with amazing documentaries and educational shows.

I know some mums ask their children to take notes while they watch. This could be a great way to include extra learning especially for older children or teens. I have found my children naturally give me a verbal recount as they just love sharing new and interesting information.

Here are our 2022/2023 favourites as voted by my children ages 4, 7, and 9:

Storybots

This adorable show follows a team of tiny bots as they search for answers to kids’ big questions such as How Does Night Happen? Or, Why Is the Sky Blue?

Numberblocks

This show introduces foundational maths concepts in really fun and entertaining ways. Great for visual learners.

The Magic Schoolbus

This classic has been around for what feels like forever. I actually remember playing Ms Frizzle in a school play! If you haven’t checked it out yet it’s a must.

The Speed Cubers

A short documentary about competitive Rubix’s Cube speed solving. This was a favourite for my 9yr old son.

Emily’s Wonder Lab

There is only one season of this show but its well worth checking out. The host Emily takes a group of kids through fun STEM activities and experiments.

72 Cutest Animals

The name says it all. This cute show introduces kids to 72 animals that are sure to warm their hearts and inspire them to love nature.

Tiny Creatures

A fun show that tells fictional stories lead by some of America’s tiniest creatures.

Wild Babies

This docu series follows young animals as they are just starting life and navigating their environment and challenges.

Puff the Wonders of the Reef

This 1hr documentary follows a pufferfish as he explores the Great Barrier Reef in Australia.

The Elephant Whisperers

Set in India, this short documentary follows an orphaned baby elephant and the couple that adopted him.

I hope you have found some fresh inspiration for using technology in healthy ways.

PLEASE share your Netflix favourites in the comments below, we are always on the lookout for something new.



Leave a comment

About Me

A homeschooling mother from New Zealand (though often living abroad).

Writing about all things homeschooling and mothering, including avoiding burnout and pursuing personal creativity.

Newsletter